Up & Coming Artist: Simon Wright

Artworx Gallery based in the Shropshire market town of Newport is proud to showcase new artist Simon Wright.

Wright’s original paintings merge animal portraiture with abstraction to create powerful contemporary works of art. His work varies from hyperrealism to a much more abstract approach. Wright simplifies the use of colour whilst maintaining character and charm.

Wilfred by Simon Wright - original painting of a stag

Wilfred by Simon Wright – original painting of a stag

Born in West Yorkshire in 1974. Simon recalls ‘From as early as I can remember I have always been drawing and painting, and it’s been my sole passion all my life. After gaining a BA honours degree in illustration, I worked for a short time as an illustrator, however I realised that my passion and talents are in the realms of portraits, particularly, animal portraits. Through this I gained success painting animals, particularly dogs, I also started to do more portraiture work.

“In my work I try to bring the elements of illustration and fine art together to hopefully create a style which is totally unique and appeals to a varied audience. I enjoy working from, realistic to abstract and everything in between. I work predominantly in oils, and acrylic. I always put character into my work and although I want my work to look realistic I still want to maintain a painted element, and not just a straight ‘photographic’ copy. My work has real feeling and honesty about it.

“My work has sold in England, Ireland and America. In recent years I have become more successful through various national Art competitions. I am always grateful that I am able to make a living out of my love of painting.”

George by Simon Wright - Original painting of a bull cow

George by Simon Wright – Original painting of a bull cow

For more information please visit

Simon Wright at Artworx Gallery

Alternatively please ring 01952 820397 or email info@artworx.co.uk
Artworx Gallery, 67 High Street, Newport, Shropshire TF10 7AU.

Opening times Monday – Friday 9am – 5.30pm. Saturday 9am – 5pm. Sunday closed.

Or get in touch below with our contact form….

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

