Doug Hyde’s Lost Reindeer Collection at Artworx Gallery

Artworx Gallery are proud to showcase ‘The Lost Reindeer Collection’ by Doug Hyde. Doug’s fresh, immediate style sits comfortably within the genre of so called “naïve art”, yet there is something about his work that sets it apart from that of his contemporaries. That special spark is difficult to pinpoint – the element of uniqueness that has made him one of the UK’s best-loved artists. The love, joy, affection, humour or sympathy reaches out to us from each individual piece in a way that is almost impossible to resist, and has made him one of the most successful artists on the contemporary scene.

A New Beginning by Doug Hyde

A New Beginning by Doug Hyde

Keeping An Eye On You by Doug Hyde

Keeping An Eye On You by Doug Hyde

“Like many of us I am utterly captivated by the monochromatic beauty of the Arctic Wilderness and for me, the inaccessibility only adds to its aura of magic and mystery. The overwhelming sense of history and legend, the unique landscape, the extraordinary wildlife and the phenomenon of the Northern Lights makes it one of nature’s greatest works of art.” – Doug Hyde

Doug’s work acts as an open window offering a view over the artist’s personal landscape, and providing a vivid and heartfelt insight into his life. Over the years his style has shifted and progressed in subtle ways, reflecting the changes in both his personal circumstances and the world around him. His artistic journey has taken him from mono-tonal figurative work to blazing techni-colour narratives, with his distinctive palette becoming one of his defining characteristics. His exploration of the spectrum takes us into a world of breathtaking light and colour which betrays his personal admiration of Mark Rothko. Rothko’s vast canvases which experiment with great swathes of colour made a huge impact on the young Doug when he first saw them at Tate Modern, and he has always remembered this encounter with gratitude and awe.

Making Friends by Doug Hyde

Making Friends by Doug Hyde

The Odd Couple by Doug Hyde

The Odd Couple by Doug Hyde

“I believe that my paintings unite me with my audience, and that although the images may say different things to all of us, they always convey a positive message of universal optimism and hope.” – Doug Hyde
Fly Me To The Moon Sculpture by Doug Hyde

Fly Me To The Moon Sculpture by Doug Hyde

Hello Handsome sculpture by Doug Hyde

Hello Handsome sculpture by Doug Hyde

“When I have an idea for a new work I tend to scribble down my thoughts at once, and in my studio I have a box overflowing with these messy scribblings on cards, paper napkins, bits of newspaper, anything that has space for a quick sketch to keep the idea in focus. When I come to start work on something new, I refer to my ‘ideas box’, and then try to refine the image in my head until it is ready to be transferred to the drawing board. I take the initial idea and sketch out the painting, adding ideas to it as I go until it evolves into a picture that works for me, or the picture I imagined when it first popped into my head.” – Doug Hyde

My Best Friend sculpture by Doug Hyde

My Best Friend sculpture by Doug Hyde

The Polar Express by Doug Hyde

The Polar Express by Doug Hyde

For more information about Doug Hyde and his work visit:

Doug Hyde at Artworx Gallery

Alternatively call 01543 502971 or email info@artworx.co.uk
Artworx Gallery, Cedars Business Park, Avon Road, Cannock, Staffordshire WS11 1QJ.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

