Vintage Collection by Doug Hyde

The new collection from Doug Hyde represents everything that is best in the world of contemporary art. Uplifting and accessible, it is also technically accomplished and aesthetically rewarding, a combination that has won this extraordinary artist many awards and many thousands of admirers.

Doug Hyde’s newest collection is available to view and purchase from Artworx Gallery, Staffordshire.

Sunday Driver by Doug Hyde

Sunday Driver by Doug Hyde

Although there is an enchanting new array of scenarios and concepts in this collection, Doug has remained in touch with the characters we have come to know and love, and Vintage Hyde will capture the public imagination like never before. Doug’s fresh, immediate style sits comfortably within the genre of so called “naïve art”, yet there is something about his work that sets it apart from that of his contemporaries. That special spark is difficult to pinpoint – the element of uniqueness that has made him one of the UK’s best-loved artists. The love, joy, affection, humour or sympathy reaches out to us from each individual piece in a way that is almost impossible to resist, and has made him one of the most successful artists on the contemporary scene.

In Your Arms by Doug Hyde

In Your Arms by Doug Hyde

World at our Feet by Doug Hyde

World at our Feet by Doug Hyde

Sunday Driver Sculpture by Doug Hyde

Sunday Driver Sculpture by Doug Hyde

“I believe that my paintings unite me with my audience, and that although the images may say different things to all of us, they always convey a positive message of universal optimism and hope.” – Doug Hyde
I love You This Much by Doug Hyde

I love You This Much by Doug Hyde

Room For You by Doug Hyde

Room For You by Doug Hyde

Doug’s work acts as an open window offering a view over the artist’s personal landscape, and providing a vivid and heartfelt insight into his life. Over the years his style has shifted and progressed in subtle ways, reflecting the changes in both his personal circumstances and the world around him. His artistic journey has taken him from mono-tonal figurative work to blazing techni-colour narratives, with his distinctive palette becoming one of his defining characteristics. His exploration of the spectrum takes us into a world of breathtaking light and colour which betrays his personal admiration of Mark Rothko. Rothko’s vast canvases which experiment with great swathes of colour made a huge impact on the young Doug when he first saw them at Tate Modern, and he has always remembered this encounter with gratitude and awe.

“When I have an idea for a new work I tend to scribble down my thoughts at once, and in my studio I have a box overflowing with these messy scribblings on cards, paper napkins, bits of newspaper, anything that has space for a quick sketch to keep the idea in focus. When I come to start work on something new, I refer to my ‘ideas box’, and then try to refine the image in my head until it is ready to be transferred to the drawing board. I take the initial idea and sketch out the painting, adding ideas to it as I go until it evolves into a picture that works for me, or the picture I imagined when it first popped into my head.” – Doug Hyde
In The Pink by Doug Hyde

In The Pink by Doug Hyde

Blue Eyed Boy by Doug Hyde

Blue Eyed Boy by Doug Hyde

Doug has also gradually created a language of elegant formal devices and set pieces which convey both artistic and personal messages. From hearts which provide platforms for lovers, to iconic images of love or friendship, Doug’s stylish contemporary take on symbols of romance strips away the inessentials and uses the entire canvas to convey simple gestures and ideas with irresistible force. Doug has built a formidable reputation as the man behind ‘the smile’, one of the most iconic artworks of the 21st century. As well as being the subject of two highly illustrated biographical books, he has been featured in numerous articles and has appeared on national TV on several occasions.

In the past I preferred to use acrylics and watercolours, but over the last few years I have fallen in love with pastels! From the very first time I used pastels I knew that this was the medium that would best be able to achieve the effects I wanted to create – I love the contrast between the soft tones and the hard edges. It gives me much more freedom than any other medium and enables me to use an entirely individual technique. I am able to create the movement I like in a piece of art and the rich boldness of colour. Because I was initially experimenting with the medium, I have developed a very unorthodox style using my fingers and thumbs to create the work, which I find gives me ultimate control.” – Doug Hyde
The Gang by Doug Hyde

The Gang by Doug Hyde

For more information about Doug Hyde and his work visit:

Doug Hyde at Artworx Gallery

Alternatively call 01543 502971 or email info@artworx.co.uk
Artworx Gallery, Cedars Business Park, Avon Road, Cannock, Staffordshire WS11 1QJ.

Comments
One Response to “Vintage Collection by Doug Hyde”
  1. srsck says:

    Very nice!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

