‘Inspiration’ A Karl Harris Exhibition at Artworx Gallery, Staffordshire

‘Inspiration’ A Karl Harris Exhibition at Artworx Gallery
Date: 1st August – 31st August 2012
Opening Times: Monday – Friday 9-5.3pm. Saturday 9-5pm.

Staffordshire based artist Karl Harris works in oil to create stunning paintings that reflect the female form. Karl is an artist who does not allow himself to be restricted by style or content. He is led by his inspiration of the creative world around him, whether that is stained glass windows from the Renaissance, or present day graphic novel illustration.

London 2012 Athelete by Karl Harris

London 2012 Athelete by Karl Harris

Karl’s debut art exhibition held at Artworx Gallery for the duration of August, showcases a very varied collection of work featuring oil paintings capturing the excitement of the London Olympic Games 2012; his tribute piece to Czech painter Mucha and several female form pieces. His portfolio of work is linked to his love and appreciation of art. This is an empowering exhibition full of diversity.

Karl talks about his work and inspiration, “Art was always my favourite subject at school. When I was younger, I remember watching Rolf Harris on his TV shows when he used to paint those huge pictures, when the image suddenly appeared before your eye – brilliant! However, I cannot paint like that as I usually do a preliminary sketch and transfer that to the canvas before I even pick up a brush, but I think Rolf is the main reason why I love art as much as I do.”

London 2012 Swimmer by Karl Harris

London 2012 Swimmer by Karl Harris

“The subjects I usually paint are figurative and I sent to restrict my palette to only a few select colours. The subject matter and style depends on what has inspired me at the time, so the next piece could be completely different to the previous one. I always paint in oils as I love blending the colours on canvas and I find I am able to spend more time with oils as acrylics dry too quickly. Plus I love the smell of the linceed oil!”

“I find inspiration from many different artists and some of my favourite contemporary artists include: Rolf Harris, Jack Vettriano and Sherree Valentine Daines. I am drawn to Art Nouveau, Art Deco, Pre Raphaelites and the Impressionists to name but a few. At one point or another I have painted in several of these styles. you only have to look at my bookshelves for the varied books on art from the Renaissance up to the present day, my work is varied and so it my inspiration.”

Blue Nude by Karl Harris

Blue Nude by Karl Harris

Artworx Gallery are proud to showcase Karl Harris’s work throughout August 2012, all pieces are available to purchase at very affordable prices. In support of local self producing artists, all of the sales earned from the exhibition goes straight back to the artist.

Purple Swimmer by Karl Harris

Purple Swimmer by Karl Harris

Untitled Face by Karl Harris

Untitled Face by Karl Harris

Wonderwoman - A Commemorative piece in memory of Michael Turner by Karl Harris

Wonderwoman – A Commemorative piece in memory of Michael Turner by Karl Harris

Faith by Karl Harris

Faith by Karl Harris

Tribute to Mucha by Karl Harris

Tribute to Mucha by Karl Harris

For more information about Karl Harris and his oil paintings please contact:

Artworx Gallery
Tel: 01543 502971 or email: info@artworx.co.uk
Artworx Gallery, Cedars Business Park, Avon Road, Cannock, Staffordshire WS11 1QJ

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

