Sarah Louise Ewing – The UK’s most exciting contemporary painters

Sarah’s work is bold and colourful with a light hearted twist. She uses a mixed media approach to deliver her heart-warming work, art that makes you feel at home. It is easy to see she enjoys every minute of painting, as every piece is created with passion and enthusiasm. She leaves a spark of character with every one of her original paintings, it is understandable to see why her work is so collectable.

Sarah Louise Ewing is one of the UK’s most exciting contemporary painters, with a growing number of collectors eager for her work. Her use of colour, texture and innovative technique deliver intense paintings full of charm, energy and emotion. In 2006, Sarah was identified by Turner Prize Winning artists Gilbert & George, who praised her work for excellent technical accomplishment. Sarah is exhibited widely in some of the UK’s leading contemporary galleries. Sarah’s works has been published in national magazines and newspapers as well as appearing on ITV and Channel 4 television.

The Good Old Days by Sarah Louise Ewing - ORIGINAL

The Good Old Days by Sarah Louise Ewing – ORIGINAL

Artworx Gallery had the chance to talk to Sarah between paintings, so we asked a few questions about what drives her passion for painting and here is what she had to say.

Where do you get your inspiration?
I am lucky enough to live in a very beautiful part of the world, in rural Gloucestershire, on the edge of the Cotswolds.  My studio window looks out over miles of unspoilt countryside. I sit here every day and watch the seasons change. It is a constant source of inspiration for me : a stunning morning sky, plumes of smoke rising from distant cottage chimneys or, as there is today, baby lambs playing in the field next to my back garden. I love this view and all these things end up in my paintings one way or another.

What led you into art and was it something you always wanted to do?
Yes, its something I always wanted to do. When I was small I would spend birthday money on pencils, paint, crayons. I got my first set of oil paints at 9 years old and tried to paint a horse. I have painted all my life – and hope to continue doing so.

The Good Old Days (Detail) by Sarah Louise Ewing - ORIGINAL

The Good Old Days (Detail) by Sarah Louise Ewing – ORIGINAL

Who is your favourite artist/designer/creative?
I absolutely love the paintings of Kit Williams. They are unique and magical. There is also something very English about them… I can’t quite put my finger on what exactly. But he likes to incorporate elements which feel unmistakably English, whether that’s elements of the natural world of human characteristics. I can get lost in his work. By coincidence he lives in the next village to me. So perhaps both of us are inspired by the same beautiful Cotswold countryside.

How long does one piece normally take to produce?
I work on several pieces at a time. There are lost of stages to the work, as its built up in layers. So I work on one painting whilst another has a layer drying. But all in all, probably about 10 days.

Fading Summer Sun by Sarah Louise Ewing - ORIGINAL

Fading Summer Sun by Sarah Louise Ewing – ORIGINAL

Do you work particular hours each day or just when you feel inspired?
This is my full-time occupation, so there has to be some discipline involved. I am in the studio by about 8.00 am each morning and work through til about 6.30 pm. I will sometimes return after dinner, depending on what needs doing. But painting is my passion – so I usually have to discipline myself to stop! If left to my own devices I could be in the studio 24 hours a day, but its important to take a break and spend time with my husband.

Your work is very distinctive with a mixed media approach, but how do you start a piece of work and then arrive at the finished article?
I rarely plan a painting out as I think this quashes spontaneity. Starting a painting is always exciting!  I love texture and encourage the viewer to touch the work. So I begin by creating areas of texture before moving onto the more detailed painting. The mixed media approach gives the work depth and I will keep adding elements until I feel the piece has a certain feel. When it does, then I stop!

What advice do you have for new artists?
Well I am a relatively new artist myself!  But, like many things in life, if you want it enough then you have to work hard to get it. Keep on keeping on. Learn from mistakes and don’t let rejection hold you back. Someone once said that if you would rather watch TV than paint, then you are probably not ready to be an artist. I think there’s probably a lot of truth in that…

Fading Summer Sun by Sarah Louise Ewing - ORIGINAL

Fading Summer Sun (Detail) by Sarah Louise Ewing – ORIGINAL

For more information about Sarah Louise Ewing and her work visit:

Sarah Louise Ewing at Artworx Gallery

Alternatively please ring 01543 502971 or email info@artworx.co.uk
Artworx Gallery, Cedars Business Park, Avon Road, Cannock, Staffordshire WS11 1QJ.

Comments
2 Responses to “Sarah Louise Ewing – The UK’s most exciting contemporary painters”

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

