Craig Davison paints Popular Culture

What does Star Wars, Wonder Woman and Spartacus have in common? Craig Davison has painted each one with his own nostalgic twist. Yorkshire born Davison has taken the art world by storm with each release of work instantly selling out. His concept of childhood heroes with infinite possibilities is unique and highly sought after. Craig began his working life as an animator and games designer, following which he became a 3D animation sculptor and once realising his dream of painting he now paints full-time. It is clear to see he is heavily influenced by a comic book style of drawing and painting which anchors the feeling of nostalgia even further. Davison talks about his work,

“Many artists inspire me. Amongst them are the comic book artist Mike Mignola, the simplistic still characters of Yoshitomo Nara, the energy of Goya and the superb illustrations of N.C. Wyeth. For the paintings I’m currently producing, the inspiration is obvious; my childhood! I try to capture the endless summer holidays spent out on my bike with friends, rescuing Mexican villages from bandits!”

Below is a new limited edition print by Craig Davison titled ‘Can You Feel The Force?’ this piece references the Star Wars character Darth Vader, with visions of a young boy.

Can You Feel The Force? by Craig Davison

Can You Feel The Force? by Craig Davison

“I would love to say that each painting begins with a set of detailed sketches and colour studies, but for me that isn’t the case. As soon as I have a rough doodle, I want to start – I can’t wait to get stuck into the painting.”

Fighting For Your Rights (In Your Satin Tights) echoes a reference of Wonder Woman, with a young girl and her imagination. This piece also visualises feminine rights and equality, she may only be a small girl at the moment, but she has the potential to grown into a confident and empowered woman.

Fighting For Your Rights (In Your Satin Tights) by Craig Davison

Fighting For Your Rights (In Your Satin Tights) by Craig Davison

“I begin by getting rid of the white canvas, painting the surface with a wash, usually a brown or orange. Then, with a rag, I sketch into the paint, and once I’m happy with that I will block out the shapes and shadows in a dark brown. I usually start this process again with another picture until I have five or six paintings ready for the next stage.”

“I make any changes that are needed and add colour and definition. When this is dry I add glazes of colour over the whole canvas and then paint over the figures again to “loosen” them up. I like the finished paintings to have a slightly naive, grubby look with lots of energy – which, when I think about it, sums up my childhood!”

Imagine when you were young and the games you used to play with your friends, did you ever pretend to be Spartacus? Did everyone one else want to be Spartacus too? This moment is captured in Craig Davison’s No I’m Spartacus!.

No I'm Spartacus! by Craig Davison

No I'm Spartacus! by Craig Davison

For more information on Craig Davison and his work visit

Craig Davison at Artworx Gallery

Alternatively call 01543 502971 or email info@artworx.co.uk
Artworx Gallery, Unit 9a, The Cedars Business Park, Avon Road, Cannock, Staffordshire WS11 1QJ.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

