Staffordshire Artist – Stuart Mayor

His work centres around the iconic busy city life and his artistic style can be likened to that of Henderson Cisz, or Paul Kenton. Staffordshire based artist, Stuart Mayor balances a hectic day job, family life and his passion for painting without even breaking a sweat. Stuart’s work offers a colourful insight into the hustle and bustle of a city lifestyle with an impressionistic twist. His work is currently on display at Artworx Gallery, Cannock, Staffordshire.

New York by Stuart Mayor

New York by Stuart Mayor

“After studying for a BTEC National in Art and Design, I completed a BA (hons) in Illustration at The School of Art and Design, Wolverhampton. Here I attended a work experience placement in a School which made me realise I wished to work with young people and follow the path of Art education. I have worked initially as an Art Teacher for twelve years and as a Head of Department for the last seven.”

Congestion by Stuart Mayor

Congestion by Stuart Mayor

“Teaching Art is great, to see young Artists grow and explore diverse mediums and Artists, developing new skills and techniques and to pursue their own creative mind, is certainly a rewarding career. Although I have completed commissioned work for friends and family it has always been to their taste, rather than subjects of interest to me. Working with enquiring minds has motivated me to produce my own work. Over the last eight months I have painted late at night, attempting to balance a family and work life in pursuit of a dream.”

Mailbox by Stuart Mayor

Mailbox by Stuart Mayor

“My inspiration comes from many areas; I have always been interested in photography as a subject, including the book, Drive-by shootings, Photographs by a New York Taxi Driver by David Bradford. I find the bright lights and hustle and bustle of busy cities mesmerising; Images of congestion and commotion merge together. The erratic lines, bold structures and ever changing scenery of the diverse array of everyday situations inspired me to produce a series of cityscapes. A rich source of colour and light are important in all forms of Art and I particularly love creating paintings which are vivid and vibrant.”

City Lights by Stuart Mayor

City Lights by Stuart Mayor

“I work in Acrylic paints and begin the painting process by sketching the image onto canvas with paint, next I begin to block in the main areas and then add detail. I am inspired by the impressionistic style and hope to translate many elements into my work. I work to an initial plan, but the final piece often takes a shape of its own.”

Tokyo by Stuart Mayor

Tokyo by Stuart Mayor

“I feel a great deal of pleasure and accomplishment from completing a painting and look forward to the next challenge.”

Cities Never Sleep by Stuart Mayor

Cities Never Sleep by Stuart Mayor

To see more of Stuart’s work visit Artworx Gallery between 13th October – 21st October 2011. For more information visit:

Artworx Gallery

Alternatively call 01543 502971 or email info@artworx.co.uk
Cedars Business Park, Avon Road, Cannock, Staffordshire WS11 1QJ

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

