Paul James

Paul’s paintings range from vivid and affectionate portrayals of farmyard and domestic animals to witty metaphorical narratives of wildlife in the urban jungle. His work is remarkable for the consummate skill with which he depicts the details of fleece, fur and feathers, and the unexpected juxtapositions of creatures and contexts. Often combining a humorous approach to his subjects with the manipulation of perspective and scale, he creates immediate and arresting pieces that have won him wide acclaim.

Dave by Paul James

Dave by Paul James

Paul was born and brought up in Leicestershire. His artistic abilities became apparent from a relatively early age and with the support and encouragement of his parents he is essentially self taught. A determined non-conformist he left art college and made a living as an independent artist painting classic cars and commissions of pet dogs and cats. After a foray into the world of music, he finally settled into life as a professional painter in 1986, since when he has established himself as one of the UK’s most gifted animal artists.

Spray it Again Charlie by Paul James

Spray it Again Charlie by Paul James

Currently resident in Southern Ireland he also spends time on his boat in the UK and in the USA where his work is becoming increasingly popular with collectors. He has won some major accolades including; finalist in ‘Not the Turner Prize’, the ‘Addenda Award’ from the Royal Birmingham Society of Artists, ‘People’s Favourite’ at the at the Royal West of England Academy, and in 2006 he was awarded Signature Membership of ‘The Society of Animal Artists’ based in New York.

Urban Gorilla by Paul James

Urban Gorilla by Paul James

“When I’m not travelling I like to spend as many daylight hours as I can behind my easel. I generally have the radio or CD’s playing; I have eclectic tastes from rock to classical or alternatively I might attempt to improve my Spanish with home learning tapes. I used to regard myself essentially as a landscape artist, but more recently I’ve become known for my animal portraiture and urban imagery. Although many of my pieces are serious compositions, I do occasionally like to have fun and so some pictures have elements of humour in them.”


Martha by Paul James

Martha by Paul James

“I work primarily from my own photographic reference material, often creating a collage of different images to form a basis for my paintings. I paint in acrylic on canvas or board although occasionally I use oils which I find easier to blend when painting larger areas of colour such as backgrounds. The majority of my paintings are sizable as they need to do justice to the subject matter. I had a friend help me to build a customised easel with a turntable and pulleys to accommodate the large canvases that I use. At any given time I have between seven and eight paintings in various stages of completion. This allows me to make best use of my palette and keeps me stimulated. Almost instinctively I know what size and shape the canvas or board should be for each piece.”


Zebra crossing by Paul James

Zebra crossing by Paul James

For more information on Paul James and his work please visit:

Paul James at Artworx Gallery

Alternatively ring 01543 502971
Or email info@artworx.co.uk

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

