New Talent Emma Grzonkowski

Emma Grzonkowski has taken the art world by storm with her expressive abstract pieces centred around her self experience. Her work is full of colour and emotion, powerful enough to keep you hooked. The soft shapes of the figure juxtapose well with each splatter and explosion of colour fusion. It almost feels like the character is trapped.

“My inspirations are drawn from the reflection of self experience and emotive senses. My work is an evolving journey with each painting representing feelings and states of being. I use myself as the physical subject, which feels natural to me due to the introspective nature, emphasising the emotion with the surrounding background. I am interested by the juxtaposition of the literal figurative content against abstract expressive forms, which provoke two different states of mind. The physicality of painting interests me, and I love to paint energetically, painting most of the background with my hand. In terms of artists I am influenced by Bacon, Freud, and John Piper, and recently comic artist David Mack who creates beautiful characters through the bleeding of water saturated colours and which inspired the fluidity of my work.”

Secret by Emma Grzonkowski

Secret by Emma Grzonkowski

Emma had a passion for the arts since being a small child, where she went onto study the great Masters.

“I went on to study fine art and graphic design, at Chester University. It was here that I was given free reign to truly experiment, we were given no boundaries and I had to find my own style, which was brilliant. It was during the second year of my degree that disaster struck; a special person was taken away from me in a sudden and fatal car accident. My whole world was torn apart and I was completely lost and in searching for reasons answers and solace, I turned to the only thing which I felt could not be taken way from me, my painting. The inspiration and desire to paint from the soul evolved. I found myself painting endlessly, as a release in an ever expressive and often frantic manner, every painting reflecting my quest to find inner peace. I was determined to do the very best that I could in honour of my soul mates memory and to make him proud, I battled through my degree, and finished with a body of artwork which was truly soulful. It was at this point that I realised that I needed to pursue my dream.”

Enchanted by Emma Grzonkowski

Enchanted by Emma Grzonkowski

For more information on Emma Grzonskowski and her work please visit:

Emma Grzonkowski at Artworx Gallery

Alternatively ring 01543 502971
Or email info@artworx.co.uk

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

