Caroline Shotton – Spring Collection 2011

Have You Heard by Caroline Shotton

Have You Heard by Caroline Shotton

Caroline Shotton’s work definitely has that fun and light-hearted feel. If you haven’t seen any of Shotton’s work, you must be living under a rock, she is fast becoming an instant sell-out. She paints Cows, not just any Cows, these cows are full of character and humour. Her newest collection lives up the to hype, with fresh, fun and charismatic figures. The Limited Edition Box Canvas prints are all Hand Embellished, signed and numbered by Caroline Shotton herself.

Caroline talks about her work, “I have been painting for as long as I can remember. I lived on the outskirts of London which meant I benefited from being within easy reach of London Galleries and open countryside, both of which were a source of immense inspiration to me. As an only child I had the freedom to immerse myself in my work, I also received a great deal of encouragement and guidance from my Grandmother who raised me for which I am eternally grateful.”

“Early influences came from the old masters. I was fascinated by their realism and throughout my school years strived perfection. When studying at Central Saint Martins my eyes were opened to new ideas and techniques. I was captivated both by surrealism and impressionism and much of my work now combines elements from these eras.”

Peek-A-Moo by Caroline Shotton

Peek-A-Moo by Caroline Shotton

“It may be a scrap of paper I’ve saved from a furnishing magazine or the disgruntled look cows give me as I pass them in the field that morning that inspires me to paint. I find myself constantly sourcing images, taking photographs and scribbling down ideas which I may use that day or in a year’s time.”

“I get inspiration when I least expect it, normally when I’m relaxing and not consciously thinking about painting. I wonder how I’d capture on canvas the way the light’s falling on my son’s hair or which techniques I’d use to recreate the decaying plasterwork on a disused shop front.”

Wishing On A Star by Caroline Shotton

Wishing On A Star by Caroline Shotton

“I generally have a clear vision of what’s going on the canvas and my preparation involves collating reference material relating to the theme of the painting and some very rough preliminary drawings, although sometimes I sketch straight on to the canvas and allow the piece to develop of its own accord. I use layers of paper, paint and varnish to accentuate particular areas and to create a tactile surface. This invariably takes time to dry so I work on a number of canvasses simultaneously.”

“I begin by a applying a subtle texture to the whole canvas using primer and tissue paper, roughly sketch out the composition and block in the larger areas of colour. The image is very abstract at this stage but I’m not precious about keeping within a particular line as this will change as the painting evolves. Next I work on the background design and the main image, paying close attention to balance their relationship as the more intricate backgrounds can easily become overbearing and detract from the whole concept of the piece. I then pipe a line of paint around the outer edges of the main image to differentiate it further from the background.”

“When it’s near completion I apply a layer of varnish and paint over the whole canvas to unite the background to the figure. While this is drying I step back and view the piece from a distance, this enables me to decide which areas need any tone adjustment, and to make sure the facial expressions are correct. Lastly, I work on the fine detail. The eyes are the most important element and finest brushstrokes can change the character and personality immensely.”

Always And For Heifer by Caroline Shotton

Always And For Heifer by Caroline Shotton

Caroline Shotton’s new collection is on display Artworx Gallery. For more details or to purchase Caroline Shotton’s newest Collection please visit:

Caroline Shotton at Artworx Gallery

Or ring 01543 502971 or email info@artworx.co.uk

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

