Richard Rowan’s Soundscapes

The Island Awaits by Richard Rowan

The Island Awaits by Richard Rowan

Richard Rowan’s work is particularly unique not just in the style that he paints, but also the technique that he has taught himself. He works with oil paints on glass which requires alot of patience and time, as it is a slow process. He places a piece of toughened glass on four posts, and works under the glass, working on the foreground first and the background last, so working in reverse to other artists. Because each piece takes such a long time, between painting and allowing for drying time, Rowan has devised a way of getting back into the frame of mind he felt when he started the piece. He listens to a specific soundtrack for each piece. For the above piece ‘The Island Awaits’ he listened to the soundtrack for The Island, ‘Friendship’ and ‘Finale’ are from the film The Kingdom. ‘Earth’ is from Gladiator, and lastly ‘Still’ is from Black Hawk Down.

Friendship by Richard Rowan

Friendship by Richard Rowan

“From early in my teenage years a quote has never left my mind…. “Life’s too short. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you may miss it.” I’m looking all the time. I get annoyed when I see a spectacular sky and all the people around me are doing there day to day routines, missing what is happening above there heads. This life is too short so I’m trying to remember as much of it as I can. Landscapes and skies are constantly changing, giving a constant flow of inspiration which I enjoy exploring. I love being able to capture a moment in time.”

Finale by Richard Rowan

Finale by Richard Rowan

“Many sketches are taken of the countryside which I record in a book as well as digital images. I store these alongside my sketches of anything from the Lake District to Hanoi. When back in the studio I can use these images to transport myself back to my thoughts and plan out a design of the picture to develop on glass.”

Still by Richard Rowan

Still by Richard Rowan

“I do like to challenge myself with difficult work. Painting oil on glass can make you want to tear your hair out, but is also satisfying at the same time. When I sit down to paint I want to paint better than the last time; pushing the boundaries of what I can do. Once I finish a painting I want people to look at the piece and be drawn in and find themselves lost in my work.”

Earth by Richard Rowan

Earth by Richard Rowan

For more information or to purchase a Richard Rowan piece of art, please visit:

Richard Rowan at Artworx Gallery

Or ring 01543 502971 or email info@artworx.co.uk

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

