Sarah Graham – New Colourful Collection

Sarah Graham’s work is bright, colourful and offers a photographic finish. Her painting technique makes her content look real. What makes her work feel touchable and sometimes edible, are the highlights. The flicks of white, the bits that you know are there, but catching them are impossible . Her use of depth perception is hypnotising, and the way she composes the images makes you pine for the entire boxed canvas collection. There is a high level of colour and saturation in the images she creates, taking you back to a childlike fascination for bright colours, this is further backed up by what Sarah paints, sweets and toys. There is real innocence about what she paints, but it is the sophistication that sets it apart from other artists.
On A Roll by Sarah Graham

On A Roll by Sarah Graham

“This image was a happy accident in a way. I had a new set of marbles, as so many women my age find themselves saying, among which was a red dice (or to be correct die) which spilled out with them. I used its shape and the density of the red to contrast sharply against the highly detailed abstract patterns of the glass. So many students ask me how do you paint glass? Perceiving it to be something ‘clear’ when it’s anything but, it’s either allowing you to see colours behind, or reflecting colour. It’s noticing them all which I have found is the key to getting this illusion right. And I do exaggerate elements to enhance this too, sharpen edges, and enlarge light reflections. As I’ve said before, if all I did was paint the photo as I see it there would be little point to what I do.”

“I begin the painting process by translating the image onto canvas by lightly sketching it in yellow paint, followed by a more detailed under painting which acts as a map for the final painting. During this process, subtle changes naturally occur, as I do not want the painting to look overly photo real; it is important to me that in my paintings you can see it has been hand crafted. There is one other reason I paint these subjects, and it’s quite simply that they are fun and put a smile on my face!”

Saucy Sundae by Sarah Graham

Saucy Sundae by Sarah Graham

“Believe it or not, the sundae used to make this painting measures less than an inch in height in ‘real’ life. Having realised that a) I’ve never created an ice-cream which would look good enough to eat let alone worthy enough to paint, and b) my photography studio lights would melt my creation within minutes, I was going to have to come up with a cunning plan if I was to recreate this kitsch image lodged in my head. After searching the internet, I found these exquisite dolls house miniatures, beautifully handmade out of glass and modelling clay, and so became the perfect subject matter for me. I love the process of taking something small and insignificant, and turning it into something visually arresting. This piece really epitomises everything my work is about, unashamed colour, kitsch playfulness, nostalgia, and the illusion of reality.”

“I am entirely motivated by colour, and as a realist painter, along with being a big kid at heart, this inevitably lead to the subject matter of toys and sweets. It allows me to explore extremely vivid colour, and at the same time manipulate the structure and form of an image. Having trawled sweetshops, markets, eBay, and my mum’s attic, to find my subject.”

Candy Canes by Sarah Graham

Candy Canes by Sarah Graham

“This painting came about after I’d been working on some ideas with the theme of Hansel and Gretel, sadly the dolls were a tad frightening and no matter how I photographed them, would always appear slightly ominous. The backdrop of course was a gingerbread house adorned in stripey candy canes, and I realised that perhaps there was a subject hidden in amongst this idea after all.
I tried to set up a composition similar to the cola bottles in ‘Drink Me’, I wanted there to be an effective contrast between the complexity of the detail in the wrapped sweets and the simplicity of the blue backdrop. I love to dictate where the eye is drawn too, and hopefully achieve a very strong three-dimensional illusion.”

For more information on Sarah Graham’s new collection please visit:

Sarah Graham at Artworx Gallery

or get in contact on info@artworx.co.uk or alternatively call 01543 502971.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 47 other followers

